Winners of Teaching Excellence Awards announced

tea awards logo

We are delighted to announce the winners of our Teaching Excellence Awards, recognising the exceptional contributions to education by colleagues across the Division.

Celebrating the high quality of teaching in the Social Sciences Division is incredibly important. Our annual awards formally recognise the outstanding contributions to teaching, learning and the academic development of students shown by colleagues at any career stage.

The awards are presented in four categories:

  • Early Career Awards recognise staff who have shown high levels of innovation and expertise in teaching at an early career stage.
  • Individual or Team Awards are presented to outstanding academic staff or teams who teach undergraduate or graduate students.
  • Excellence in Supervision Awards recognise the outstanding achievements of academic staff who undertake DPhil supervision.
  • Achievement Awards are presented to individuals who have demonstrated high quality and sustained commitment to education.

Whilst announcing the awardees, we would also like to acknowledge the outstanding work carried out by staff across the Division over the past year. We thank everyone involved for their dedication and continued effort.

Professor Timothy Power, Head of the Social Sciences Division, said: "Many congratulations to all of this year's recipients of the Teaching Excellence Awards. I am thrilled to see the outstanding work of our talented colleagues across the division being recognised in this way, and I extend my gratitude to them and to all of our staff who contribute to our exceptional educational offering."

2022-23 Teaching Excellence Award winners

Early Career Awards


michael leadbetter

Michael Leadbetter, School of Archaeology 

"My classrooms are noisy places, bubbling with conversation, enthusiasm, fizzing with the intoxication of learning and new ideas. I aspire to cultivate in my students an academic curiosity and intellectual creativity with which to take on the world. I am thrilled to accept the Social Science Division Teaching Excellence Award."



agni orfanoudaki

Dr Agni Orfanoudaki, Saïd Business School  

"I am very thankful and honoured to receive the Teaching Excellence Award. I am particularly grateful to my students and colleagues for their support and inspiration, which have helped me become a better teacher. Their encouragement and feedback have been invaluable in shaping my teaching philosophy and practices. I look forward to continuing my teaching efforts and contributing to the unique academic community of Oxford."



lisa wedding

Dr Lisa Wedding, School of Geography and the Environment 

"I am honoured to receive the Teaching Excellence Award. This recognition highlights the collective efforts of my teaching colleagues, who have inspired and challenged me to shape a diverse and inclusive pedagogical approach. In addition, I am grateful to have students eager to listen and learn from a range of perspectives and ideas, thus, enabling us to explore equitable and impactful environmental solutions in the classroom."



Individual/Team Awards


samer jarkasy

Professor Samer Jarkasy, Saïd Business School  

"I am thrilled to have received this Oxford University 2023 divisional Teaching Excellence Award for my finance teaching at Saïd Business School. Such a great pleasure to have taught Hedge Funds to an impressive class of 113 Oxford MBA, MFE, MLF and Economics & Management BA Finalist students. Thank you."




ariel lindorff

Dr Ariel Lindorff, Department of Education  

"I am honoured to receive a Teaching Excellence award. Anything positive I do in my teaching is very much facilitated by having such brilliant students and colleagues!"




tom simpson

Dr Tom Simpson, Blavatnik School of Government  







Excellence in Supervision Awards


professor nandini gooptu head shot

Professor Nandini Gooptu, Oxford Department of International Development 

"Graduate supervision is the most rewarding part of my work. My students never cease to inspire me with their intellectual vigour, energy and enthusiasm. Each one in their unique way has enriched my own thinking and scholarship. This award is a tribute to their achievements and excellence."




bettina lange picture

Dr Bettina Lange, Faculty of Law  

"I am delighted to receive this award, and to work with such inspiring, motivated and interesting students, and would like to thank colleagues for their support."



anna lora wainwright

Professor Anna Lora-Wainwright, School of Geography and the Environment / Oxford School of Global and Area Studies  

"Heartfelt thanks to all students and colleagues who nominated me. I treasure the opportunity to work with such inspiring and capable students and I am delighted to play a part in making academia a more diverse, socially-engaged and nurturing space where we can all thrive and learn from each other."



Achievement Awards


ann childs

Dr Ann Childs, Department of Education 

"Thank you so much for this wonderful recognition of my teaching. Thanks must also go to my brilliant colleagues and students at the Department of Education and beyond for creating a culture of excellence and support which I have had the privilege to learn from every single day."




ralph schroeder

Professor Ralph Schroeder, Oxford Internet Institute

"I'm so pleased, but this is really thanks to outstanding colleagues and students: they make OII a great place to teach!"

2023/24 TEA scheme

We will be announcing the schedule for the 2023/24 TEA scheme in Michaelmas term 2023. All members of staff with teaching responsibilities will be invited to submit an application to be judged by the Division’s Quality Assurance Committee.