Teaching Awards 2020-21

The 2021 Divisional Teaching Excellence Awards

Celebrating the high quality of teaching in the Social Sciences Division is incredibly important. One of the ways we do this is through a teaching excellence recognition scheme each year. Since the last Divisional Teaching Excellence Awards we have seen a dramatic change in the way teaching has been conducted not only in Social Sciences, but across the world. Whilst announcing the awardees for this year, we also acknowledge the tremendous amount of work that was done by many people in order to deliver online learning this academic year, and the work that is still being done for Michaelmas Term. We thank everyone involved for their hard work and continued effort.

The Social Sciences Division's scheme formally recognises the outstanding contribution to teaching and learning and the academic development of students shown by colleagues across the Division. The scheme has two strands: (i) unfunded Teaching Excellence Awards recognising an exceptional contribution to education by colleagues at any career-stage; (ii) funded Teaching Development and Enhancement Project (TDEP) grants for projects focussed on enhancing the learning experience for students at all levels. 

Dame Professor Sarah Whatmore, Head of the Division said of the achievement: 

These annual awards highlight the dedication and commitment of our colleagues to teaching and learning in the Social Sciences Division. This year has been like no other, and I am delighted to be able to celebrate the work undertaken by colleagues at all career stages to ensure our students received the best academic experience possible given the circumstances. Many congratulations to all who have received awards.

The 2021 Teaching Excellence Award winners: 

Early Career Stream 

Dr Anna Petherick (Blavatnik School of Government)

anna petherick










Dr John Pouncett (Archaeology)

john pouncett









Dr Victoria Sainsbury (Archaeology)

sainsbury headshot










Dr Olivier Sterck (Department of International Development)

olivier sterck






Dr Marc Szepan (Saïd Business School)

marc szepan  sbs faculty page








Dr Rachel Tanner (Human Sciences Institute)

rachel tanner ecr tea







Individual Award for Excellence 

Dr Jenni Ingram (Education)

jenni ingram




Team Award for Excellence

Professor John Armour, Paul Davies QC, Professor Luca Enriques, Dr Dr Geneviève Helleringer and Professor Wolf-Georg Ringe (Faculty of Law)

luca enriques








Professor Liz Fisher, Dr Sanja Bogojević, Dr Joanna Bell, and Professor Sue Bright (Faculty of Law)

Excellence in Supervision Award

Dr Brendan Doody (Geography)

Outstanding Achievement Award 

Mr Trevor Mutton (Education)



The 2021 TDEP awardees:

TDEP round 1 (confirmed in February) 

  • Capturing and sharing sustainability: funding a student videographer/producer-in-residence to film and produce content within the new MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment’ (Dr Laurence Wainwright, Geography)
  • Writing Matters (Dr Katherine Collins/ Dr Kelsey Inouye/ Dr David Mills, Education) 
  • Resources for inclusive teaching and study at the Oxford Internet Institute’ (Dr Victoria Nash)
laurence wainwright
katherine collins
kelsey inouye
David Mills
victoria nash






TDEP round 2 (confirmed in June) 

  • Core Empirical Research Methods (Dr Francis diTraglia, Economics)
  • Developing Professional Teacher Education Partnerships in Response to Change (Dr Katherine Burn/ Dr Jenni Ingram/ Mr Trevor Mutton/ Dr Tessa Blair/ Ms Ashley Abbott, Education) 
  • Seascape Ecology and Conservation: Diversifying the Curriculum Through Multiple Ways of Knowing (Dr Lisa Wedding. Dr Chloe Montes-Strevens/ Dr Jane Taylor, Geography) 


The Division will be announcing the schedule for the 2021/22 unfunded TEA and funded TDEP schemes in Michaelmas term 2021. All members of staff with teaching responsibilities are invited to submit an application to either strand, and applications are judged by the Division’s Quality Assurance Committee.



Susan James Relly

Associate Head (Education)